This Diy project was one of those that kind of came out of nowhere… I don’t know about you, but usually, I plan my projects for some time before I get around to doing them. However this one was different, I was just sitting there one morning, we had the day off work and I decided I wanted to build something!

So that’s just what I did, I had the entryway decorated and it worked great for keys but my husband wanted a shelf to place the stuff from his pockets when he gets home from. So after some scrolling through Pinterest, I came up with this idea.

DIY-Wooden-Entryway-Coat-Rack

I already had the bench thanks to my hubby! ( I had him build me a guest book bench for our wedding, which turned out amazing but that’s a story for another time)

This meant all I had to do was get some materials, we were going to town for lunch anyways. So we stopped by home depot to get the supplies necessary (list below).

Enough of me rambling let’s get down to business, follow the steps below to complete your DIY wooden entryway coat rack.

20170430_140928
Before
20170612_225033
After

Step – By – Step

1. Measure your area and determine your coat rack size. (my overall size is 60″ W x 33″H)

2. Get your supplies, listed & linked below.

3. Lay out your cut 1x6s out like so, be sure to place the board face side down.
(I used a penny to get my shiplap spacing)

Entryway-frame-work-front

4. To secure the boards together I used scrap 1x4s.

Entryway-frame-work-back

5. Secure these boards with wood glue and 3/4″ long screws.

Entryway-frame-work-screws

5. Paint your wood panel, I used a semi-gloss white paint.

20170430_152102

While the paint was drying I went to work on the shelf brackets!

Shout out to shanty 2 chic for the easy  DIY Rustic Corbel how to.

DIY Entryway Shelf

 

Assembly

1. Mount your shiplap sign to your wall. Using 3″ wood screws, through your panel into the wooden studs. (If you don’t want the mounting screws visible, try to strategically place them behind the shelf brackets, and coat hooks)

2. Place and mount your custom built shelf brackets.

3. Cut your shelf boards to length and mount them to the brackets.

4. Mount your coat hooks, after a ton of searching I finally tracked down these guys from hobby lobby! Brown Metal Hooks, Only $2ea, but you will need hardware.

DIY Entryway Coat Rack

 

I love how this one turned out, however, I felt like something was missing! So I decided to add a custom vinyl monogram.

20170612_225033DJ8A6996

This was the icing on the cake, it completely tied the look together, and the installation process was a breeze!

For a quick how-to video check this out –  DIY Custom Monogram installation

 

It’s so nice to have a place to organize all of our things. Living in a small apartment you learn to take advantage of all available space! Have you made a DIY coat rack of have ideas for one? I’d love to see them, just leave a link in the comments?

 

 

Supply List

Shiplap Sign

Shelf

Monogram Vinyl Decal

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “DIY Wooden Entryway Coat Rack With A Monogram

  1. I LOVE this! It is soooo beautiful! I’m now searching for a place in my house to make a similar sign! Thanks for the tutorial – totally saving for later!

    Like

Leave a Reply

