20150524_163033

May 18th to most this is just another day and another month, for me, this is a day for years that we look forward to as it was a day of Celebration for when my grandfather was born. I always loved this day because it meant coming up with gifts for him. He was a type no matter what you got or made he absolutely love it and that’s why it was always a blast. This gift was one of my favorites as it was one I got to make with my husband, and I absolutely LOVE how it turned out!

For those who look at this and think what in the world is that for, this is for you.

BackStory:  My grandpa was the type who loved everything antique and anything green and yellow meaning John Deere! He literally, has two rather large pole barns full of antiques and John Deere items he has collected and been gifted!

20141018_091610

Over the years of his antique collecting, he kind of fell in love with the idea of being a blacksmith, so we went on the hunt. It took awhile but eventually, he had his entire building filled with blacksmith items, from anvils, hand tools, grinders ( the pedal kind) that he had purchased to custom hammers, and forge’s that we had built! With all of this, he created a building we now call the blacksmith shop. Once he had this space dad offered to help design and build a sign for the front of the building. With this sign, we created him a logo, which then he kinda put everywhere, from his jeep doors to small antiques he refurbished.

 

And thus, the BW blacksmith was born. These buildings are something that he cherished and loved to show people around and explain all of the things he has and what they do!

So with that in mind, I set out to create the perfect gift. I know weird when it comes to gift giving,  bu usually my gifts can’t be returned because I want my gifts to be unique especially when it came to grandpa’s gifts!

This gift took a lot of thought, as I had ideas in my head of what I wanted but sometimes it’s hard for me to bring them to life! I wanted to do something blacksmith oriented, originally I was attempting Nuts & Bolts Monogram to make him a logo like so:

Nuts & Bolts Monogram 050

But the issue was I wanted to use blacksmith metal scraps and was having a very hard time tracking them down. So it was back to the drawing board.. With a lot of thinking, searching and discussing with my husband we came up with this!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The logo itself is actually cut out of a brushed aluminum, because we could not cut steel with our router. So we spray painted it all bronze, beat if up a little bit and then went over it with black spray paint and kind of dabbed it in places with a cloth to achieve the rusted steel effect!

I’d love to hear your thoughts, or if you have a project you like me to create please leave a comment below!

Love Your Life,

Mandy

 

 

Leave a Reply

