I can’t believe this day has finally come! This is a project I dreamed up a long time ago, and it’s been on my list to complete ever since! To say I’m super duper excited would be an understatement, just ask my husband, he’d probably say I never shut up about it. This is perfect for those who love to travel and let’s be honest that’s most everyone!  There have been smaller versions of this floating around for awhile now, which they are cool, but I really wanted something, unique, and big enough to be a statement piece!

So ladies and gentlemen if you would give me a Drum Roll, please…….. I present the WORLD MAP!!!

Minus Antarctica, because somehow it never got produced. Hey, nobody’s perfect!

 

20170409_171546
Dreams Do Come True
20170409_171534
Now to fill this baby up with pins!

20170409_171607

20170409_171616
I love how the details turned out!

20170409_17155420170409_17162620170409_171639

Like I said this Joker has been a work-in-progress, I have been planning on how I wanted to build this for quite a while now. Sadly I didn’t get many pictures of how it was assembled.

All-in-all I only ended up spending $100, and that is thanks to the fact that I was able to use scrap aluminum from our shop. So my only costs were on the cork board, frame board, and the contact cement we used to adhere the materials together. The back is painted with Chaulk board paint, and I actually ordered my small white vinyl lettering from lettering on the cheap.

I hope you all enjoy this piece as much as I do! Either way, I’d love to hear what you think? Do you have one of those dream projects that you have never got around to completing? Why wait, they are so much fun and in my personal option worth the effort!

Live your life to the fullest,

Mandy<3

19 thoughts on “Custom DIY Cork World Map

  1. That is NICE!! And oh how nice it would be to be able to pin ALL over it. And yes, I’ve just completed a DIY wall art project that I’ve dreamed of for a couple of years now. And I don’t know why I didn’t do it sooner!
    🙂 gwingal

    Like

  2. What a gorgeous and memorable project. We’re a military family and this would be a beautiful way to immortalize our moves and travels. Thanks for sharing at the #ThisIsHowWeRoll Link Party.

    Like

Leave a Reply

